Author Moods

Inspirationquote-791953_960_720

“A book comes and says, ‘Write me.”
Madeleine L’Engle

“I never exactly made a book. It’s rather like taking dictation. I was given things to say. ”
C.S. Lewis

“I saw a street car conductor today with one brown eye and one blue. Wouldn’t he make a nice villain for a detective story?”
Jean Webster, Daddy-Long-Legs

“Write about what really interests you, whether it is real things or imaginary things, and nothing else.”
C.S. Lewis

“Stuff your eyes with wonder, he said, live as if you’d drop dead in ten seconds. See the world. It’s more fantastic than any dream made or paid for in factories.”
Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451

Planningplan-707359_960_720

“I do not think that you can be changing the end of a song or a story like that, as though it were quite separate from the rest. I think the end of a story is part of it from the beginning.”

Rosemary Sutcliff

 

Beginning

“You say grace before meals. I say grace before I dip the pen in the ink.”
G.K. Chesterton

Scrawling

“Slartibartfast’s study was a total mess, like the results of an explosion in a public library.”
Douglas Adams

sentiment-998340_960_720

Elation

“When the writing fit came on, she gave herself up to it with entire abandon, and led a blissful life, unconscious of want, care, or bad weather, while she sat safe and happy in an imaginary world, full of friends almost as real and dear to her as any in the flesh.”
Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

“Isn’t it fun to work— or don’t you ever do it? It’s especially fun when your kind of work is the thing you’d rather do more than anything else in the world. I’ve been writing as fast as my pen would go every day this summer, and my only quarrel with life is that the days aren’t long enough to write all the beautiful and valuable and entertaining thoughts I’m thinking. I’ve finished the second draft of my book and am going to begin the third tomorrow morning at half-past seven. It’s the sweetest book you ever saw— it is, truly. I think of nothing else. I can barely wait in the morning to dress and eat before beginning; then I write and write and write till suddenly I’m so tired that I’m limp all over.”
Jean Webster, Daddy-Long-Legs

Depression

“And I write novels!” chimed in the other cop. “Though I haven’t had any of them published yet, so I better warn you, I’m in a meeeean mood!”

Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

“Where do you think my new novel is? In the waste basket. I can see myself that it’s no good on earth, and when a loving author realizes this, what would be the judgment of a critical public?
Jean Webster, Daddy-Long-Legs

Procrastination

“Like every book I never wrote, it is by far the best book I have ever written. It is only too probable that I shall never write it, so I will use it symbolically here; for it was a symbol of the same truth.”
G.K. Chesterton, The Everlasting Man

“I came up with a pen and tablet hoping to write an immortal short story, but I’ve been having a dreadful time with my heroine— I CAN’T make her behave as I want her to behave; so I’ve abandoned her for the moment, and am writing to you.”
Jean Webster, Daddy-Long-Legs

Perseverance

“If they won’t write the kind of books we like to read we shall have to write them ourselves.”
C.S. Lewis

“This new book is going to get itself finished— and published! You see if it doesn’t.”
Jean Webster, Daddy-Long-Legs

Echalkboard-459256_960_720diting

“The difference between the almost right word and the right word is really a large matter. ’tis the difference between the lightning bug and the lightning.”
Mark Twain, The Wit and Wisdom of Mark Twain

“Omit needless words.”
William Strunk Jr., The Elements of Style / How to Speak and Write Correctly – Special Edition

“I am so clever that sometimes I don’t understand a single word of what I am saying.”
Oscar Wilde, The Happy Prince & Other Stories

“Writing is easy. All you have to do is cross out the wrong words.”
Mark Twain

Finished!

“I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.”
Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

 

Do you have any favorite writing quotes (or moods) to add? Post them in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “Author Moods

  1. Only amateurs say that they write for their own amusement. Writing is not an amusing occupation. It is a combination of ditch-digging, mountain-climbing, treadmill and childbirth. Writing may be interesting, absorbing, exhilarating, racking, relieving. But amusing? Never!
    ~Edna Ferber

    I didn’t realize just how true this quote was until I was published. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

